BRISBANE, CA - MAY 12:  Boxes of Cheerios cereal are displayed on a shelf at the Midtown Market May 12, 2009 in Brisbane, California. The Food and Drug Administration has issued a warning letter to Cheerios maker General Mills telling the company to stop making claims in its advertising the Cheerios will lower cholesterol and treat heart disease.  (Photo by Justin Sullivan/Getty Images)

General Mills Issues Voluntary Recall of Cheerios, Honey Nut Cheerios Over Allergen Concern

Web Team October 6, 2015 National News, Virginia News

VIRGINIA – You may want to check your pantry before enjoying another bowl of cereal if you’re a fan of Cheerios as General Mills has issued a voluntary recall of certain lot numbers of both Cheerios and Honey Nut Cheerios due to an undeclared allergen.

According to the company in a statement, Cheerios and Honey Nut Cheerios produced on certain dates in July of this year produced at their California plant “are being recalled because an isolated incident resulted in wheat flour being inadvertently introduced into the gluten free oat flour system at its Lodi facility.”

“As a result, the products may contain an undeclared allergen – wheat – in products labeled as gluten-free,” the company reports.

General Mills will recall and retrieve affected cereals produced on those dates from customer warehouses and store shelves.  Consumers with wheat allergies, celiac disease or gluten intolerance should not consume products bearing the affected code dates and should contact General Mills for a replacement or full refund.

This voluntary recall includes four days production of original (yellow box) Cheerios, and thirteen days of production of Honey Nut Cheerios at its Lodi, California facility with the following “BETTER IF USED BY” code dates and the plant code LD which indicates the product was produced at Lodi, California:

Honey Nut Cheerios Yellow Box Cheerios


















The company announced earlier this year that they are in the process of transitioning five varieties of Cheerios to gluten free. Cheerios and Honey Nut Cheerios cereals produced at General Mills’ other facilities, or on dates other than those noted at the Lodi, California facility, are not impacted. General Mills’ other gluten-free Cheerios varieties – including Apple Cinnamon Cheerios, Frosted Cheerios and MultiGrain Cheerios – are not impacted and are not being recalled.  No other General Mills cereals are affected.

Consumers requesting refunds or calling with further questions should contact General Mills Consumer Services at 1-800-775-8370.

Copyright 2015 by Hermes Publications | Photo Credit: Google Images

Comments are closed.